The Fire Museum of Maryland is one of the largest fire museums in America. Located in Lutherville, MD (Baltimore County), the Museum is a leading institution in preserving, restoring, and interpreting the history of the urban fire service in the U.S. The Museum was founded in 1971 and houses a world-class collection of historic hand engines, horse-drawn, steam powered and motorized vehicles. Exhibits include firefighting tools, antique toys, Great Baltimore Fire of 1904, a working Telegraph Office, and a Children's Discovery Room. We feature curriculum based educational tours in science, history, and technology. Meeting rooms, party rentals, and antique vehicle rentals are available. The apparatus provide an immersive visual setting to tell the story of firefighting in America fromÂ 1806 to the present. Many of our restored apparatus are working road vehicles. The crown jewels in our firefighting history tour are: a 1856 Agnew hand engine, a 1899 American steamer, a 1905 Hale water tower, a 1918 Mack Bulldog ladder truck, a 1922 Ahrens -Fox pumping engine, and a 1947 Mack Floodlight Wagon. It now exists to share the complete story of the history of the urban fire service in America. Since its founding in 1971, the Museum has expanded the depth of its collections to become a professionally run institution that is open to the public. The Fire Museum receives funding from Baltimore County, donors, members, planned giving, admissions, and visitors like you.
1301 York Road, Lutherville, MD 21093